The Hindu Marriage Act 1955 lists 9 grounds for divorce

The Hindu Marriage Act 1955 lists 9 grounds for divorce. Namely –
  • Adultery
  • Cruelty
  • Desertion
  • Conversion of religion
  • Unsoundness of mind / serious mental disorder
  • Virulent and incurable form of leprosy of partner
  • Venereal and communicable disease suffered by a partner
  • Renunciation of the world
  • Unknown whereabouts of partner for more atleast 7 years
In addition to the above grounds, parties may also file for dissolution of marriage on the grounds of mutual consent, no resumption of cohabitation or no restitution of conjugal rights for a period of one year or upwards after a judicial decree of separation has already been passed.
Women have certain additional grounds for filing, namely – polygamous husband, rape or sodomy inflicted on her, or if she was married before she attained the age of 15 as long as the marriage was repudiated before she attains the age of 18.

No comments:

Post a Comment